Partying and Punting – June 11

Mary was finishing up cupcakes when I got up Saturday morning. A few days earlier her neighbor had stopped by and asked for her assistance. The neighbors stove was broken and she was hosting a birthday party for her son and needed help getting the cupcakes done. Since Mary’s daughter and her son are close, and Mary is super awesome, I think she was happy to help.

While hanging out at a child’s birthday party was not on my Europe to-do list, Rachael had been gracious enough to extend an invitation and I thought it would be a nice opportunity to meet some new people. I got to try the British snack Monster Munch, blow up balloons until I nearly passed out, and got to meet some of her neighbors and friends. Not a bad way to spend a few hours.

After a few hours Mary and I hit the road for Cambridge. It was a lovely 2-ish hour drive to the college town and we had a great time chatting about whatever came to mind. I think we both loved the city immediately, it was very charming. We grabbed a bite to eat at the first place we spotted after parking then made our way to the river to go punting. When my friend, Melisa, told me I must go punting in Cambridge I had no idea what she was talking about. According to Wikipedia a punt is a flat-bottomed boat with a square-cut bow, designed for use in small rivers or other shallow water. Now you know!

When we arrived Mary noticed you could rent your own boat or kayak. I considered it for a moment then declined. As much as I enjoy kayaking on my own I was looking forward to hearing what the guide had to say about Cambridge. I was not disappointed.

We disembarked the punt next to a pub that was playing the England soccer match. The crowd wasn’t very boisterous. I’m not sure if Cambridge is just too dignified for that sort of behavior, or if the team didn’t perform well?

As the college kids came out to party and drunken guys argued with security our infatuation with Cambridge came to an abrupt end. It would do for an afternoon fling, but we didn’t think we’d be suited to live there.

Leave a Reply

