Harder Klum – July 11

It was after noon by the time I made it to the Interlaken OST train station. I had a few ideas of what I wanted to do but hadn’t paid much attention to how to get there. Fortunately signs pointed me out to the street where more signs pointed out favorite tourist spot. The Swiss do a fantastic job of making things easy for their tourists!

20160711_034614

 

I made my way to the Harderbahn to ride the cable car to the top of Harder Klum. It only runs a couple times an hour and of course, I’d just missed it. The cable car returned and I enthusiastically hopped in the front seat that no doubt would afford me the best view going up. As soon as we got out of the little station it dawned on me how poorly I’d thought that through. I have a pretty significant fear of heights and this cable car was taking us up the side of the mountain at a close to 50% incline. I usually do okay when I’m in some sort of enclosure but this ride made me pretty uncomfortable. Deep breath in, relax, look straight ahead and enjoy the view.

Exited the cable car and nervously made my way up the stairs and out to the trail. I stopped for a few minutes to pull myself together. Its a short walk up the trail to the restaurant and view point. I made my way to the top, around the restaurant to where you find the view point. Its an enormous balcony stretched out over the side of the mountain. Sigh! In case that didn’t unnerve me enough there was a section in the middle that was glass so you can look down. Um no!

The views were breathtaking, and even more so as I stepped out on to the platform. I typical Melinda fashion I walked down the center and around the glass, not getting to close to the rails. I think to myself “I should get some therapy. This completely irrational fear is stealing my joy”.

I paused for a few minutes to enjoy the view, took a few pictures, then made my way down to get the cable car. I was glad I’d made it to the top but I didn’t want to be caught up there in the storm that was brewing.

Back in town and made my way across the river to where I’d spotted some boat tours earlier. The wind had picked up and the raindrops started to fall as I chatted with one of the gals at the information desk. The tours of the lakes were fairly lengthy, and I didn’t want to put in the time if my view of the mountains was going to be obstructed by the clouds. She gave me the timetables to help with my planning then I crossed the street to the train station to get a train back to Bern.

Leave a Reply

