Racing against time – July 28

In the short time I was in Germany there were 4 different attacks so I was pretty eager to move on.

Around this same time a friends uncle in the UK had passed away. I had the pleasure of meeting him in 2002 when I traveled to England with Lesley. I felt compelled to attend the funeral and pay my respects since I was already in Europe. Since Chris was returning to London on the day of the funeral I decided the timing might work, but it was going to be tight.

We landed a little late, had to navigate to another terminal, get through passport control, then get to the train station. I had barely missed the train that would get me to Poole with a comfortable amount of time to get to the funeral. The woman at the ticket counter found me another route but it left no room for error.

First train down and I’m at the station waiting for the connection. The print out showed the destination but didn’t mention the train number or route for the next train. Ugh! Desperately checking the display hoping it will show me the stops before the train I need comes and goes. I eventually take a guess based on names of places I’ve heard mentioned before. I go to that platform and the display confirms Poole is a stop. Whew!

Exited the train in Poole and rushed to the parking lot. Lesley’s brother-in-law had offered to pick me up as long. Found Terry as he was locking his car. We rushed off to the Crematorium and arrived with just minutes to spare.

You know how sometimes you feel really compelled to do something but you don’t understand why? This was one of those moments for me. I’d only spent the one day with this man, but his niece and other members of his family mean the world to me. I thought if nothing else I could act as Lesley’s proxy at the funeral. I had no idea what it meant to her until I talked to her on the phone later that day and she broke down into tears. I was so thankful I was able to make it work.

I stayed with Terry and Jackie that evening. We had Chinese food (I ordered a really terrible orange chicken) and watched London Has Fallen while I worked. It was a hectic day but worth every ounce of effort.

Leave a Reply

